Healthy Snack

I made a new discovery – Kale Chips! Sounds gross, but they are actually quite tasty.  I am aware I am late to the game with Kale Chips, but I have cooked with kale perhaps only once in my life. I am more of of  Spinach/Swiss Chard kind of girl.  Next time you are craving something crunchy, pass on the potato chips and try these out.

Kale Chips   serves 2-3 (really 2)

  • 1 bunch curly kale
  • kosher salt (to taste – I used about 1 1/2 tsp)
  • freshly crushed black pepper (to taste)  (I used about 6 turns of the pepper mill)
  • garlic powder (optional) (a couple of shakes)
  • chili powder (optional) (a pinch or two)
  • non-fat cooking spray

special equipment:  salad spinner

1) Pre-Heat Oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit

2) Rinse the Kale with water

3) Tear the kale leaves from the stems into potato chip size pieces (medium to large).  Throw the stems into the trash.  Reserve the leaves.

4) Use the salad spinner to dry the kale leaves.

5) Once the kale is dry, spread the kale onto a cooking sheet into a single layer.  (I needed two pans in order to have a single layer)

6) Spray the leaves with cooking spray.

7)  Sprinkle the salt, chili powder, and garlic powder, and pepper onto the leaves.  (For a simpler chip – just use salt and pepper).

8) Bake for about 12 minutes.

9) Remove from oven and enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Recipes

2 responses to “Healthy Snack

  1. So tempted to try kale because there has been so much hype about it lately! But it just looks so….green and healthy. I’m nervous about the taste, I feel like it’d be bitter

Leave a Reply

